Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/grostyanlaw/public_html/wp-content/plugins/social-share-button/themes/icons-body.php on line 69
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/grostyanlaw/public_html/wp-content/plugins/social-share-button/themes/icons-body.php on line 246
In the state of Minnesota, there are several acts that could be considered a theft crime. These crimes are considered to be what we call “wobbler” offenses because they can be categorized as either a misdemeanor or felony crime depending on how severe the defense was and how much the stolen property was worth. When it comes to sentencing, the Minnesota courts will look at the specific charges and take two factors into consideration: the value of the stolen property and how it was stolen. If something is taken by force or using threats of violence, then the penalties will grow substantially. If you are unsure of what penalties you face, speak with a Minneapolis criminal defense lawyer from my firm today.
If the value of the stolen property in your case is between $5,000 and $35,000 or the property that you stole was a firearm, trade secret or explosive, then you could be facing a felony theft crime. The penalties for a felony theft charge may include:
- 10-20 years in a state prison
- A fine anywhere between $20,000-$100,000
If the property that you stole is valued at $1,000-$5,000 the penalties may include:
- Up to five years in prison
- A fine up to $10,000
If you stole property that is valued between $500 and $1,000, then you could be facing a gross misdemeanor theft offense. The potential sentence for this crime may include:
- Up to one year in jail
- in conjunction with or without a $3,000 fine
Lastly, if the value of the stolen goods or services is valued to be less than $500, then you are facing a misdemeanor theft charge. This offense is punishable for:
- Up to 90 days in jail
- A fine up to $1,000
Besides fulfilling these criminal consequences, a person guilty of a theft crime may also face civil penalties in the state of Minnesota. If you were convicted of theft, you may be held responsible for paying restitution to the owner of the property. You may have to pay the equal dollar amount of the value of property that you stole as well as pay punitive damages. When it comes to paying punitive damages, you will either be required to pay $50 or 100% of the stolen property’s value, whichever amount is greater. If this is not your first theft-related conviction, then you could have additional penalties added onto your sentence. To avoid a longer prison sentence, consult with a Minneapolis criminal defense attorney at my firm as soon as possible. My firm also offers a free online case review so you can begin to discuss the details of your case today!